Idioms & tongue twisters in English

Idioms & tongue twisters in English

This web has originated from my extreme love for English
Idioms & tongue twisters in English

Idioms & tongue twisters in English

This web has originated from my extreme love for English

Idioms-part three

Great boast – little toast

پز عالی جیب خالی

SAKHA dressed to kill! But it was only great boast-little toast!

Go to rack and ruin

نتیجه ی بد حاصل کردن

I studied a lot but I went to rack & ruin!

Good heaven

عجب افتضاحی!!

When SAKHA saw the accident he cried: oh… good heaven!

God is the light of heaven and earth

الله نور السماوات و الارض

As Quran sais: God is the light of heaven and earth

God grant that…

خدا کند که...

God grant that it rains today.

Get out of my face

گورتو گم کن! – از جلوی چشمم دور شو!

Get out of my face if you know what's good for you!!

Gain ground

پیشرفت کردن

Step by step Im gaining ground

Group with other things

در زمّه ی چیز های دیگر قرار دادن

You cant group me with other students!

Go bananas

از شدت عصبانیت یا خوشحالی جو گیر شدن

The children will go bananas when you tell them that trip is cancelled.

Gain over

ربودن

The huge car was gained over!

Give a person the benefit of the doubt

کسی را بی گناه دانستن

The lawyer was trying to give her the benefit of the doubt!

Give somebody hell

دمار از روزگار کسی در آوردن!

I know you have crashed the car & I will give you hill.

Give someone the slip

جیم شدن

The street was really full of people that the thief managed to give them the slip

God speed

صفر بخیر!

God speed.

Grease ones palm

سبیل کسی چرب کردن

He would've signed the contract if I'd greased his palm!!

Grasp at some thing

مشتاقانه پذیرفت

Do you like to go to the park?

I grasp at it!

Go to the dog

به گند کشیده شدن!

Our neighborhood has really gone to the dogs since a bunch of drug addicts moved in.

Go to town

سنگ تمام گذاشتن

When they give parties, they really go to town.

and chew Go bricks

برو کشکت رو بساب!

What do you say?!

Go & bricks and chew!

Get the jump on some one

پیش دستی کردن

No one has ever been able to get the jump on Margie in swimming

Get up on the wrong side of the bed

                     از دنده چپ بلند شدن!           

Why are you so grouchy today? Did you get up on the wrong side of the bed?

Go cold turkey

یک مرتبه عادتی را کنار گذاشتن

The doctor believes that if he opium addict had gone cold turkey, he might have not survived.

Get the short end of the stick

کلاه سر کسی رفتن

Martin's very unhappy because he's got the short end of the stick again.

Get ants in ones pants

دل شوره گرفتن

I always get ants in my pants before a lecture!!

Give something ones best shot

نهایت سعی خود را کردن

I gave the exam my best shot!

Get in some ones hair

                           کلافه کردن            

I went home to get some rest, but the kids kept getting in my hair

Get something out of one s system

خود را از شر فکری خلاص کردن

Mrs. Abrams has not been able to get the memory of her husband's death out of her system yet.

Get a kick out of some thing

حظ کردن!

I always get a kick out of his jokes.

Get some ones goat!

کفر کسی را بالا آوردن – روی سگ کسی را بالا آوردن!

The way you treated me in front of other people got my goat.

Get cold feet

جا خوردن – دچار دو دلی شدن

I usually get cold feet when I have to speak in public

Get carried away

ذوق زده شدن

Calm down. Don't get carried away. We have to sit down and talk.

 Get in to hot water

تو هچل افتادن

I really get into water whenever I play hooky.

Go to the dogs

به مخروبه تبدیل شدن

My old house has gone to the dogs!

Get the ball rolling

دست به کار شدن

Move it guys! If you wanna get the job done before dark, you gotta get the ball rolling now.

Get away clean

از مجازات فرار کردن

After robbing the bank, the robbers spend off in a waiting car and got away clean

Give me five

بزن قدش!

Hey, man, Give me five!

Get off some ones back

دست از سر کسی برداشتن

Please get off my back! I can't do it for you!

Go down the drain

به هدر دادن

All the money I invested in that damned business went down the drain.

Go to bat for some one

از کسی جانب داری کردن

I expect you to go to bat for me whenever you hear anyone gossip about me

Have at one’s fingers ends

فوت آب بودن

I have all the lessons at my fingers end!

Hit below the belt

نامردی کردن – نارو زدن

I'll never do any business with Peter again. He really hits below the belt.

Horses for courses

هر کسی را بهر کاری ساخته اند

You cant make me be a doctor dear!

Horses for courses!

He’s got a screw loose

یک تخته اش کم است!

Don’t get angry! He has got a screw loose.

Have in out with him

مورد حمله قرار دادن

The new president had in out with the old one!

Have a screw loose

یه تخته کم داشتن

He never talks sense. He seems to have a screw loose.

Hear over the grapevine

از زبان این و آن شنیدن

How do you know Mr. Smith is resigning?

I heard it over the grapevine.

He is bared his head in the sand

سر خود را زیر برف کردن

Don’t bared your head in the sand

Some thing is happening there!

Have a finger in every pie

نخود هر آش بودن

If you try to have a finger in every pie I will omit you from the group.

He is a dog in the manger

نه خود خورد نه کس دهد گنده کند به سگ دهد...!

Kathryn never gives away anything she herself has no use for. She is such a dog in the manger!!

His life failed him

عمرش وفا نکرد

His life failed him & he couldn’t see his lawyer son!  

He's over the hill

کسی که دلش جوان است

He is not as old as he seems. he is over the hill.

His tongue on son wheels

زبانش را گنجشک خورده است

SAKHA can't answer the questions, it seems  His tongue is on son wheels!!

Happy to you

خوش به حالت!

Oh…happy to you that you have a real good mom!

Hang in there

طاقت آوردن

If you hang in there I will save your life!

Have the last word

حرف خود را به کرسی نشاندن

Who has the last word in your family?!

He is as green as grass

صبر ایوب داشتن

They say, SAKHA is as green as grass in the field of studying!

Hold your horses

تند نرو- دست نگه دار!

Hey, don't get so mad! Hold your horses and let us explain.

Horse of a different color

وصله ی نا هماهنگ – نا مربوط

I was talking about trees, not bushes. Bushes are a horse of different color!

He puts his foot down

هر دو پا را در یک کفش کردن

The child put his foot down and said: I want the bicycle - want the bicycle.

Have ones cake and eat it too

هم خدا و هم خرما را خواستن!

George wants a regular income but doesn't want to work. He can't have his cake and eat it too!

He has not a penny to bless himself with

آه نداره که با ناله سودا کنه

He has not a penny to bless himself with

He led a dog’s life

آب خوش از گلویش پایین نرفت

As long as his life he led a dogs life!

His blood is up

خونش جوش آمده است

When she heard the bad news her blood got up!

He is no better than I am

خون او از من رنگین تر نیست!

He is no better than I am

He lets the cat

از دهنش دررفت!

Nobody was supposed to tell him about the surprise party, but my sister let the cat out of the bag!

He is not so black as he is painted

قلم در دست دشمن است!

He is not so black as he is painted

He has a good hand at some thing

کهنه کار بودن در کاری

SAKHA has a good hand at English.

He is in the prime of life

پایش لب گور است

He is in the prime of life

He has one foot in the grave

یکی از هزار گلش نشکفته است

He has one foot in the grave.

He has style

صاحب نظر بودن

Does SAKHA have style in English?!

He can make both ends meet

دستش به دهنش میرسد

He can make both ends meet

Hang on a person’s lips

چشم به دهان کسی دوختن

Don’t you have any idea with you yourself?!

You always hang on your moms lips!

He was near to tears

چیزی نمونده بود بزنه زیر گریه!

He was near to tears.

Hang it

به دَرَک!

Hang it

Hang a thief when he’s young and he’ll no steal when he is old

سر گرگ باید هم اول برید

نه چون گوسپندان مردم درید

Hang a thief when he’s young and he’ll no steal when he is old

He will marry them in an hour if he has seven blind daughters

اگه هفت تا دختر کور داشته باشه

یک ساعته شوهرشان میدهد

He will marry them in an hour if he has seven blind daughters

Human blood is all of a color

بنی آدم اعضا ی یکدیگرند

که در آفرینش ز یک گوهرند

Human blood is all of a color.

High places have their precipices

هر فرازی را نشیبی است

Don’t be sad dear, High places have their precipices!

Hit the hay

پریدن توی رختخواب

Okay guys, we have to get up early. I guess it's about time to hit the hay!

Hasty work double work

آدم عجول کار را دوباره میکنه!

Hasty work is a double work

Horse of a different color

بی ربط بودن

We are speaking about trees. grass is a horse of a different color!

Hot under the collar

جوش آوردن

Daddy was hot under the collar when we told him his car had been stolen.

Have a sweet tooth

به چیز های شیرین علاقه داشتن!

Daddy eats sweets and chocolate every day. He has a sweet tooth.

Honesty is the best police

صداقت بهترین سیاست زندگی است

Honesty is the best police

He has sown his wild oats

آرد خود را بیخته است!

He sown his wild when he opened his mouth!

Horse of a different color

از زمین تا آسمان فرق داشتن

Men & women are really horses of a different  colors.  

Hit the ceiling

حسابی از کوره در رفتن

 SAKHA s father hit the ceiling when he heard that his son had got a speeding ticket.

Have a frog in ones throat

گرفته بودن صدای کسی – صدا از گلوی کسی در نیامدن

Excuse me, I can't talk clearly. I have a frog in my throat

Have some ones number

دست کسی را خواندن

Joe has been so friendly to me recently, but I have his number. He just needs my money.

Hit the nail on the head.

درست حدس زدن – درست به خال زدن

I guess we need a lot of money to carry out the plan

You're absolutely right. You've hit the nail right on the head

Have the world by the tail

دنیا به کام کسی بون

With the new car Daddy's bought me, I have the world by the tail!!

Hold ones tongue

جلوی زبان خود را گرفتن

Hold your tongue, Steve! You can't talk to your sister that way

Horse around

بازی گوشی کردن

Stop horsing around and get to work!

It is a knick knack

برگ سبزی است تحفه ی درویش

When SAKHA gave the gift, he said it is a knick knack.

Hen pecked husband

زن زلیل  

 I respect my wife's views, but I'm not a hen-pecked husband

in ones book

به عقیده ی کسی

In my book, you are the most generous person in the world

It rains cats and dogs

باران شدید باریدن

Yesterday it was raining cats & dogs!

It will pass without one single incident

آب از آب تکان نخورد

It will pass without one single incident

If gold rusts what then can iron do?

هرچه بگندد نمکش میزنند وای به روزی که بگندد نمک!

If gold rusts what then can iron do?

I’ll cook your goose

آشی برایت بپزم که یک وجب روغن داشته باشد...

You will see what happens; I will cook your goose!

In the same boat

همدرد بودن

I'm broke. Can you lend me a couple of bucks?

Sorry, I'm in the same boat.

I have little hope in it

چشمم آب نمی خورد!

I have a little hope in what he said!

It does not please god

خدا را خوش نمی آید

It doesn’t please god if you don’t help the poor.

in the hole

قرض بالا آوردن

I'm five thousand bucks in the hole. I don't know what to do!!

I congratulate you

چشم شما روشن...

I congratulated him when I saw him.

In the twinkling of an eye

در یک چشم به هم زدن

In the twinkling of an eye I will reach there!

It is never too late to learn

هرگز برای آموختن دیر نیست

It is never too late to learn

in the bag

100%

I've got the election in the bag. Everyone's gonna vote for me.

نظرات 0 + ارسال نظر
برای نمایش آواتار خود در این وبلاگ در سایت Gravatar.com ثبت نام کنید. (راهنما)
ایمیل شما بعد از ثبت نمایش داده نخواهد شد